Top 10 places in Angoulême

Our app features the history of 95 monuments and great sites including places to discover Angoulême. Here is a selection of the top 10 monuments of the city, with an extract of the texts available in the application and written by our teams of specialists. For full content, download our Android and iPhone Guide and start creating your travel journal for your stay at Angoulême

Visit Saint-Pierre Cathedral - The Facade

Saint-Pierre Cathedral - The Facade

The façade of the cathedral of Angouleme is particularly spectacular and interesting. The decoration of statues and bas-reliefs is very rich. It dates from the 12th century, apart from the representations of Saint Martin (right of the portal) and Saint George (left) which date from the restoration... Read more

Visit Cathedral of Saint Peter - History

Cathedral of Saint Peter - History

The cathedral you see in front of you is the fourth high there. The first, Saint-Saturnin, was perhaps erected in the 4th century. Clovis had it destroyed after taking the Visigothic city in 508. He had a new one, Saint-Pierre, consecrated in 566. This cathedral was destroyed during a fire in 981... Read more

Visit Museum of the Paper

Museum of the Paper

Angoulême has a very rich industrial past. Stationery in particular, held a preponderant place here. The area we are in has always been important: the proximity of the abbey of Saint-Cybard has long made it an intellectual and religious center but also an economic center with the first mills.... Read more

Visit Place Henri Dunant

Place Henri Dunant

On the square, on the site of the Gabriel Fauré Music Conservatory, was the Jesuit College founded in 1622. At the beginning of the Revolution, there were only a few pupils and it was closed in 1791. The building became a School Normal from 1832 to 1843. In 1844 it was transformed into ... Read more

Visit Place New York

Place New York

In the 18th century, this place is a very popular and well-attended walk on the site of the ancient Gallo-Roman rampart which protected the city. In 1775, the Comte d'Artois adopted a project of embellishment of utility for the city. The existing square is redeveloped into a vast esplana... Read more

Visit Church and Square Saint-André

Church and Square Saint-André

Nestled in this small square in the heart of old Angoulême, the church of Saint-André is the oldest of the churches of Angouleme. Its oldest parts date from the 12th century. It was profoundly altered in the 15th century. During the wars of Religion, it lost its vaults which were only rebuilt in... Read more

Visit Church of St. Martial

Church of St. Martial

The old Saint-Martial church, in very poor condition, was destroyed in 1849. The construction of a new church was entrusted to the architect Paul Abadie fils. It was consecrated in 1853 in the presence of a cardinal and several bishops. This important event was immortalized by the painter Louis... Read more

Visit Theater of Angoulême

Theater of Angoulême

An auditorium existed near the present Hotel de Ville since the 18th century. In the 19th century, many public buildings were built: the Palais de Justice, the Prefecture, and the Hôtel de Ville. The theater, finished in 1870, is the last of these buildings. Its decoration is entrusted to the... Read more

Visit Column Lady

Column Lady

At the beginning of the XIX ° century, the main access to penetrate in Angoulême by the west is the street Saint Ausone. Having become too narrow for traffic in 1808, a new road was opened. In 1815, on August 18, the Duchess of Angoulême, daughter of King Louis XVI, borrowed it and the municipality... Read more

Visit Place des Halles

Place des Halles

Around 1250 was built here by King Louis IX a castle affirming its power over the city opposite that of the counts of Angouleme. This Chatelet, has long given its name to the place. It had many corner towers, wide ditches and high walls. It was abandoned at the end of the 15th century and became ... Read more

App features and audioguide Angoulême

Prepare your trip to Angoulême and discover all its treasures and secrets. Monuments, Restaurants, Hotels, Activities, Wellness, Museums, become your own guide, save time by creating your own travel diary, and share your tips with friends.

Activate the instant discovery and become a free explorer in the small paved streets of Angoulême, you will be alerted of a nearby place during your walk.

Be sure to have your guide at all times even if low coverage areas and avoid abroad DATA overcosts with the « offline map and guide» feature.

Let yourself be guided in Angoulême through original themed itineraries.

Enrich your trip to Angoulême with a quest : Capture the places and collect items, challenge your curiosity with quizzes, treasure hunt while you are living in Angoulême

Shows & Entertainment

Nightlife and best places

View the complete selection

Where to sleep ?

A selection of hotels, accommodations and apartments in Angoulême

Hôtel du Palais
Hôtel du Palais

Price : 65 EUR

Book now
Hotel Epi d'Or
Hotel Epi d'Or

Price : 50 EUR

Book now

View the complete selection

Where to eat ?

Selection of the best restaurants in Angoulême

View the complete selection

Map of Angoulême

Guide Angoulême

Discover 95 geolocalized remarkable sites to visit in Angoulême by downloading the free app Monument Tracker World Guide and 120 more cities

245

Votre guide de voyage pour Angoulême

Top 10 lieux Angoulême

Notre application propose l'histoire de 95 monuments et sites remarquables comprenant les lieux incontournables pour découvrir Angoulême. Voici une sélection du top 10 des monuments de la ville, avec un extrait des textes disponibles dans l’application et rédigés par nos équipes de spécialistes. Pour l’intégralité du contenu, téléchargez notre guide Android et iPhone et commencez à créer votre carnet de voyage pour votre séjour à Angoulême.

Visiter Cathédrale Saint-Pierre - La Façade

Cathédrale Saint-Pierre - La Façade

La façade de la cathédrale d'Angoulême est particulièrement spectaculaire et intéressante. Le décor de statues et de bas reliefs est très riche. Il date du 12° siècle, mises à part les représentations de saint Martin (à droite du portail) et de saint Georges (à gauche) qui datent de l... Lire la suite

Visiter Cathédrale Saint-Pierre - Historique

Cathédrale Saint-Pierre - Historique

La cathédrale que vous voyez devant vous est la quatrième élevée à cet endroit. La première, Saint- Saturnin, fut peut-être érigée au 4° siècle. Clovis la fit détruire après avoir pris la ville aux wisigoths en 508. Il en fit construire une nouvelle, Saint-Pierre, consacrée en 566.... Lire la suite

Visiter Musée du Papier

Musée du Papier

Angoulême a un très riche passé industriel. La papeterie en particulier, a tenu une place très prépondérante ici. Le quartier dans lequel nous sommes a toujours été important : la proximité de l'abbaye de Saint- Cybard en a fait longtemps un centre intellectuel et religieux mais aussi un centre... Lire la suite

Visiter Place Henri Dunant

Place Henri Dunant

Sur la place, à l'emplacement du conservatoire de musique Gabriel Fauré, s'élevait le collège des jésuites fondé en 1622. Au début de la Révolution, il ne comptait plus que quelques élèves et on le fermât en 1791. Le bâtiment devint École Normale de 1832 à 1843. En 1844 on le transforma en sal... Lire la suite

Visiter Place New York

Place New York

Au 18° siècle, ce lieu est un endroit de promenade très apprécié et très fréquenté établi à l'emplacement de l'ancien rempart Gallo-romain qui protégeait la ville. En 1775, le comte d'Artois adopte un projet d'embellissement d'utilité pour la ville . La place existante est réaménagée en une vaste... Lire la suite

Visiter Eglise et Square Saint-André

Eglise et Square Saint-André

Nichée dans ce petit square au coeur du vieil Angoulême, l'église Saint-André est la plus ancienne des églises d'Angoulême. Ses parties les plus anciennes datent du 12° siècle. Elle a été profondément remaniée au 15° siècle. Pendant les guerres de Religion, elle a perdu ses voûtes qui n'ont été... Lire la suite

Visiter Eglise Saint-Martial

Eglise Saint-Martial

L'ancienne église Saint-Martial, en très mauvais état, est détruite à partir de 1849. La construction d'une nouvelle église est confiée à l'architecte Paul Abadie fils. Elle est consacrée en 1853 en présence d'un cardinal et de plusieurs évêques. Cet événement d'importance a été immortalisé par ... Lire la suite

Visiter Théatre d'Angoulême

Théatre d'Angoulême

Une salle de spectacle existait près de l'actuel Hôtel de Ville depuis le 18° siècle. Au 19° siècle, on construit de nombreux bâtiments publics : le Palais de Justice, la Préfecture, l'Hôtel de Ville. Le théâtre, terminé en 1870, est le dernier de ces bâtiments. Son décor est confié au peintre... Lire la suite

Visiter Colonne Madame

Colonne Madame

Au début du XIX° siècle, l'accès principal pour pénétrer dans Angoulême par l'ouest est la rue Saint Ausone. Devenue trop étroite pour la circulation en 1808, on inaugure donc une nouvelle voie. En 1815, le 18 août, la duchesse d'Angoulême, fille du roi Louis XVI, l'emprunte et la municipalité... Lire la suite

Visiter Place des Halles

Place des Halles

Vers 1250 a été construit ici par le roi Louis IX un château affirmant son pouvoir sur la ville face à celui des comtes d'Angoulême. Ce Châtelet, a longtemps donné son nom à la place. Il possédait de nombreuses tours d'angle, de larges fossés et de hauts murs d'enceinte. Il est abandonné à l... Lire la suite

Fonctionnalités de l'application et audioguide Angoulême

Avec Monument Tracker, préparez votre voyage pour Angoulême et découvrez tous ses secrets. Monuments, Restaurants, Hôtels, Activités, Bien être, Musées, devenez votre propre guide, gagner du temps en créant votre propre carnet de voyage, et partagez vos bons plans entre amis.

Activez la découverte instantanée et devenez un explorateur libre dans les petites rues pavées de Angoulême, vous serez alerté d’un lieu à proximité lors de votre ballade.

Soyez sûr de disposer de votre guide en toutes circonstances comme des zones non couvertes par le réseau, et faites des économies de coût de DATA à l’étranger avec la fonction « carte et guide hors ligne ».

Laissez-vous guider dans Angoulême au travers de circuits thématisés originaux.

Votre voyage à Angoulême devient une quête: Capturez les lieux et collectionnez-les, jouez à des jeux originaux pendant les pauses, des quiz, et partez à la chasse aux trésors pendant votre séjour à Angoulême

Quels spectacles ?

Vie Nocturne et meilleures adresses

GIRLS IN HAWAII
GIRLS IN HAWAII

Prix : 17 EUR

Réserver

Consulter la sélection complète

Où dormir ?

Une sélection d’hôtels, hébergements et appartements à Angoulême

Consulter la sélection complète

Où manger ?

Sélection des meilleurs restaurants sur Angoulême

Consulter la sélection complète

Carte de Angoulême

Bon plans Angoulême

Retrouvez 95 endroits à visiter sur Angoulême dans l’app gratuite Monument Tracker World Guide et 100 autres villes

245