Top 10 places in Avignon

Our app features the history of 72 monuments and great sites including places to discover Avignon. Here is a selection of the top 10 monuments of the city, with an extract of the texts available in the application and written by our teams of specialists. For full content, download our Android and iPhone Guide and start creating your travel journal for your stay at Avignon

Visit JARDIN DU ROCHER DES DOMS

JARDIN DU ROCHER DES DOMS

Dominating the plain of the Rhone with its 30m height, it is the first place of occupation of the City since the prehistoric times. In turn, the fortress was fortified by the Romans, then the castrum in the Early Middle Ages. The citadel protected the city, which gradually stretched out at its... Read more

Visit VERTICAL GARDEN OF THE HALLS

VERTICAL GARDEN OF THE HALLS

The vertical garden of Les Halles is a creation of Patrick Blanc, botanist and researcher at the CNRS, inventor of a landless ecosystem. The wall is clad with a metal frame lined with a PVC plate on which are stretched layers of polyamide felt. On this support with a strong capacity of capillarity,... Read more

Visit CATHEDRAL NOTRE-DAME-DES-DOMS

CATHEDRAL NOTRE-DAME-DES-DOMS

Today it is a metropolitan basilica, built according to tradition on the site of a 4th century Christian basilica. The current building of the 12th century, remodeled from the 15th to the 17th century, is however characteristic of Provencal Romanesque art with its bell tower in front and its... Read more

Visit CHURCH OF SAINT-SYMPHORIEN LES CARMES

CHURCH OF SAINT-SYMPHORIEN LES CARMES

Church of the former Convent of the Carmelas until the Revolution, it receives in 1803 the title of the parish St-Symphorien, disappeared, located not far. The Grands Carmes were established in the 13th century outside the walls of Avignon: the church was rebuilt thanks to the Popes of John XXII... Read more

Visit COLLEGIALE SAINT-PIERRE

COLLEGIALE SAINT-PIERRE

Cited as early as the 10th century, it was rebuilt under the papacy of Avignon by Cardinal Pierre des Prés, and erected as a collegiate church by Pope Innocent VI. Once completed, the building was restored at the end of the 15th century. In 1524, the facade flanked by turrets is completed,... Read more

Visit COLLEGIALE SAINT-DIDIER

COLLEGIALE SAINT-DIDIER

Built in 1355 at the expense of the estate of Cardinal de Déaux (remains of the tomb in the choir), it was erected as a collegiate church by Pope Innocent VI. This church is very homogeneous and is the archetype of the Gothic style adapted to the region. Wall paintings of the Cardini chapel... Read more

Visit COLLEGIALE SAINT-AGRICOL

COLLEGIALE SAINT-AGRICOL

Tradition attributes its foundation to Saint Agricol, bishop of Avignon, in the 7th century. The excavations practiced at the chevet (ancient and palaeo-Christian) confirm its antiquity as a place of worship. In 1321, Pope John XXII financed his reconstruction, which was completed in the 15th... Read more

Visit CHAPEL OF THE ORATORY

CHAPEL OF THE ORATORY

Begun in 1713, several architects succeeded each other until its consecration in 1750. Preceded from a monumental Corinthian portico, the nave in ellipse is surmounted by an immense dome supported by eight buttresses, masterpiece of stereotomy. Tribunes opening on balconies of ironwork.... Read more

Visit CHAPEL OF THE GRAY PENITENTS

CHAPEL OF THE GRAY PENITENTS

Built on the site of the oratory of St. Croix where, according to tradition, King Louis VIII made his devotions in 1226 and founded the brotherhood of the Penitents gray. The oldest in the city, still active, commemorates each year the "Miracle of the waters": during floods in 1433, the... Read more

Visit CHAPEL OF THE BLACK PENITENTS

CHAPEL OF THE BLACK PENITENTS

Founded in 1586, the brotherhood is placed under the name of St. John the Baptist, intended to help the prisoners and assist the condemned to death. Originally outside the walls, the old chapel of Notre-Dame de Fenouillet was enlarged by the penitents at the beginning of the 17th century, then... Read more

App features and audioguide Avignon

Prepare your trip to Avignon and discover all its treasures and secrets. Monuments, Restaurants, Hotels, Activities, Wellness, Museums, become your own guide, save time by creating your own travel diary, and share your tips with friends.

Activate the instant discovery and become a free explorer in the small paved streets of Avignon, you will be alerted of a nearby place during your walk.

Be sure to have your guide at all times even if low coverage areas and avoid abroad DATA overcosts with the « offline map and guide» feature.

Let yourself be guided in Avignon through original themed itineraries.

Enrich your trip to Avignon with a quest : Capture the places and collect items, challenge your curiosity with quizzes, treasure hunt while you are living in Avignon

Shows & Entertainment

Nightlife and best places

THE NOFACE
THE NOFACE

Price : 14 EUR

Book now
VOLODIA + ASHKABAD
VOLODIA + ASHKABAD

Price : 11 EUR

Book now

View the complete selection

Where to sleep ?

A selection of hotels, accommodations and apartments in Avignon

Danieli
Danieli

Price : 55.3 EUR

Book now

View the complete selection

Where to eat ?

Selection of the best restaurants in Avignon

Terre de Saveurs
Terre de Saveurs

Price : 33 EUR

Book now
Newground
Newground

Price : 31 EUR

Book now

View the complete selection

Map of Avignon

Guide Avignon

Discover 72 geolocalized remarkable sites to visit in Avignon by downloading the free app Monument Tracker World Guide and 120 more cities

245

Top 10 lieux Avignon

Notre application propose l'histoire de 72 monuments et sites remarquables comprenant les lieux incontournables pour découvrir Avignon. Voici une sélection du top 10 des monuments de la ville, avec un extrait des textes disponibles dans l’application et rédigés par nos équipes de spécialistes. Pour l’intégralité du contenu, téléchargez notre guide Android et iPhone et commencez à créer votre carnet de voyage pour votre séjour à Avignon.

Visiter JARDIN DU ROCHER DES DOMS

JARDIN DU ROCHER DES DOMS

Dominant la plaine du Rhône de ses 30m de hauteur, c'est le premier lieu d'occupation de la Ville depuis les temps préhistoriques. Tour à tour oppidum fortifié par les Romains puis castrum au Haut Moyen Age, la citadelle protège la Ville qui s'étend peu à peu à ses pieds, et le château des Comtes y... Lire la suite

Visiter JARDIN VERTICAL DES HALLES

JARDIN VERTICAL DES HALLES

Le jardin vertical des Halles est une création de Patrick Blanc, botaniste et chercheur au CNRS, inventeur d'un écosystème sans terre. Le mur est habillé d'une armature métallique doublée d'une plaque de PVC sur laquelle sont tendues des couches de feutre en polyamide. Sur ce support à fort pouvoir... Lire la suite

Visiter CATHEDRALE NOTRE-DAME-DES-DOMS

CATHEDRALE NOTRE-DAME-DES-DOMS

Aujourd'hui basilique métropolitaine, elle est bâtie selon la tradition sur l'emplacement d'une basilique chrétienne du IVe siècle. L'édifice actuel du XIIe s., remanié du XVe au XVIIe siècle, est cependant caractéristique de l'art roman provençal avec son clocher tour en façade et son magnifique... Lire la suite

Visiter EGLISE SAINT-SYMPHORIEN LES CARMES

EGLISE SAINT-SYMPHORIEN LES CARMES

Eglise de l'ancien couvent des Carmes jusqu'à la Révolution, elle reçoit en 1803 le titre de la paroisse St-Symphorien, disparue, située non loin. Les Grands Carmes s'étaient établis dès le XIII°s hors de l'enceinte d'Avignon : l'église est reconstruite grâce aux papes avignonnais Jean XXII puis... Lire la suite

Visiter COLLEGIALE SAINT-PIERRE

COLLEGIALE SAINT-PIERRE

Citée dès le X°s, elle est rebâtie sous la papauté avignonnaise grâce au cardinal Pierre des Prés, et érigée en collégiale par le pape Innocent VI. Jamais terminé, l'édifice est repris à la fin du XV°s. En 1524, la façade flanquée de tourelles est achevée, illustrant le gothique flamboyant : les... Lire la suite

Visiter COLLEGIALE SAINT-DIDIER

COLLEGIALE SAINT-DIDIER

Construite dès 1355 aux frais de la succession du cardinal de Déaux (restes du tombeau dans le choeur) elle est érigée en collégiale par le pape Innocent VI. D'une grande homogénéité, cette église est l'archétype du gothique adapté à la région. Peintures murales de la chapelle Cardini (atelier... Lire la suite

Visiter COLLEGIALE SAINT-AGRICOL

COLLEGIALE SAINT-AGRICOL

La tradition attribue sa fondation à Saint Agricol, évêque d'Avignon, au VII°s. Les fouilles pratiquées au chevet (antiques et paléo-chrétiennes) confirment son ancienneté comme lieu de culte. En 1321, le pape Jean XXII finance sa reconstruction, qui sera complétée au XV°s.(allongement de la nef,... Lire la suite

Visiter CHAPELLE DE L'ORATOIRE

CHAPELLE DE L'ORATOIRE

Commencée en 1713, plusieurs architectes s'y succèdent jusqu'à sa consécration en 1750. Précédée d'un monumental portique corinthien, la nef en ellipse est surmontée d'une immense coupole épaulée par huit contreforts, chef d'oeuvre de stéréotomie. Tribunes ouvrant sur des balcons de ferronnerie.... Lire la suite

Visiter CHAPELLE DES PENITENTS GRIS

CHAPELLE DES PENITENTS GRIS

Bâtie sur l'emplacement de l'oratoire de Sainte-Croix où, selon la tradition, le roi Louis VIII aurait fait ses dévotions en 1226 et fondé la confrérie des Pénitents gris. Celle-ci, la plus ancienne de la Ville et toujours en activité, commémore chaque année le « Miracle des eaux » : lors... Lire la suite

Visiter CHAPELLE DES PENITENTS NOIRS

CHAPELLE DES PENITENTS NOIRS

Fondée en 1586, la confrérie est placée sous le vocable de saint Jean-Baptiste, destinée à aider les prisonniers et assister les condamnés à mort. Située à l'origine hors les murs, l'ancienne chapelle Notre-Dame de Fenouillet est agrandie par les Pénitents au début du XVII°s, puis réaménagée et... Lire la suite

Fonctionnalités de l'application et audioguide Avignon

Avec Monument Tracker, préparez votre voyage pour Avignon et découvrez tous ses secrets. Monuments, Restaurants, Hôtels, Activités, Bien être, Musées, devenez votre propre guide, gagner du temps en créant votre propre carnet de voyage, et partagez vos bons plans entre amis.

Activez la découverte instantanée et devenez un explorateur libre dans les petites rues pavées de Avignon, vous serez alerté d’un lieu à proximité lors de votre ballade.

Soyez sûr de disposer de votre guide en toutes circonstances comme des zones non couvertes par le réseau, et faites des économies de coût de DATA à l’étranger avec la fonction « carte et guide hors ligne ».

Laissez-vous guider dans Avignon au travers de circuits thématisés originaux.

Votre voyage à Avignon devient une quête: Capturez les lieux et collectionnez-les, jouez à des jeux originaux pendant les pauses, des quiz, et partez à la chasse aux trésors pendant votre séjour à Avignon

Quels spectacles ?

Vie Nocturne et meilleures adresses

THE NOFACE
THE NOFACE

Prix : 14 EUR

Réserver

Consulter la sélection complète

Où dormir ?

Une sélection d’hôtels, hébergements et appartements à Avignon

Danieli
Danieli

Prix : 55.3 EUR

Réserver

Consulter la sélection complète

Où manger ?

Sélection des meilleurs restaurants sur Avignon

Terre de Saveurs
Terre de Saveurs

Prix : 33 EUR

Réserver
Newground
Newground

Prix : 31 EUR

Réserver

Consulter la sélection complète

Carte de Avignon

Bon plans Avignon

Retrouvez 72 endroits à visiter sur Avignon dans l’app gratuite Monument Tracker World Guide et 100 autres villes

245