History of Flamand royal theatre at Brussels

At this place was a basin of the harbor, which was used to unload the hay necessary for the horses and a cattle market. A large warehouse was built by the city in 1781, which was later transformed into an arsenal in 1860. In 1883 the arsenal was transformed into a theater by Jan Baes, who built a new façade on the back of the building in the Flemish neo-renaissance style and the back part is conserved. The façade and the sides have large wrought-iron balconies for quick evacuation. The facade is original and does not resemble the usual facades of theater: three large windows preceded by statues on the first floor, a row of small columns at the top, a roof that ends with two stepped gables

Editorial content Monument Tracker ©

Location of Flamand royal theatre

Guide Brussels

Discover all geolocalized remarkable sites to visit in Brussels by downloading the free app Monument Tracker World Guide and 120 more cities

245