Les chais - comic strip museum
History of Les chais - comic strip museum at Angoulême
These magnificent and imposing buildings, with their 110-meter façade, are old aging cellars of brandy. They were built in 1857. They are testimony to the importance of river traffic linked in particular to the eau-de-vie of Cognac. They were subsequently taken over by Lazare Weiller, who opened a felt factory for the paper mills in 1908. They were recently renovated and restored to house the comic book museum and its bookshop. On an area of ??about 1300 m2, the museum exhibits many original plates. A permanent exhibition, chronological, allows to discover the history of the comic from the origins to the present day and its evolution in all the countries of the world. The boards are in constant rotation which allows to discover a different museum each season. It also offers the amateur of the ninth art temporary exhibitions, conferences, meetings, workshops. The comic book museum is more than 8000 boards, drawings, audiovisual documents, derivative objects that allow to discover the comic in all its states and all its dimensions. To visit urgently!
Editorial content Monument Tracker ©